Materials Synthesis Facility

Molecular Beam Epitaxy

Synthesis capabilities consist of five molecular beam epitaxy systems in four laboratories. One system is currently dedicated to developing ferroelectric monolayers and growing oxides on semiconductors. The other three systems are research grade MBE systems. These systems consist of a loadlock and MBE chamber with thermal sources, RF plasma oxygen sources, and electron beam sources.  One of them is used as a teaching tool for undergraduates and features custom automation and interlocks to prevent equipment damage. These three systems focus on the deposition of nickelates, titanates, manganites, selenides, and tellurides on up to 50 mm-diameter substrates. A fifth MBE system is attached to Altman’s scanning tunneling microscope for developing monolayer ferroelectrics. This system features reflection high energy electron diffraction (RHEED), a quartz crystal microbalance, and an electron beam evaporation source.

Combinatorial sputtering

combinatorial sputter deposition system features four sputter sources for deposition on 4 inch-diameter wafers.  Outside access to the deposition tools is through collaborative arrangements with outside users supplying consumables that includes deposition effusion cells, source materials, sputter targets, and crucibles.

Cryogen-free Physical Property Measurement System (PPMS - Dynacool)

Closed-cycle, cryogen-free Physical Property Measurement System (PPMS - Dynacool) enables low temperature and high magnetic field transport measurements without the need for liquid helium. The system is capable of measuring bulk and thin film samples in a temperature range of 1.8 to 400K up to fields of 9T and comes equipped with both DC and AC measurement capabilities. The cryogen-free temperature control eliminates the overhead associated with refilling the system, allows for continuous operation for indefinite periods of time, and leads to faster magnetic field control. This instrument is already being used by multiple groups to study a variety of materials including oxide thin films and semiconductor nanomaterials

Quantum Design MPMS Squid Magnetometer

The SQUID detects and measures the Magnetic Moment of the sample. From this the magnetization and magnetic susceptibility can be determined. Applications of the SQUID magnetometer include measurements of small quantities of paramagnetic ions, characterization of all kinds of magnetic materials, and quantitative determination of the number of unpaired electrons in samples. The MPMS-XL provides solutions for a unique class of sensitive magnetic measurements in key areas such as high-temperature superconductivity, biochemistry, and magnetic recording media. This document may help a beginning SQUID user, Fundamentals of Magnetism for MPMS,  it covers the background Physics and introduces the instrument well.